Taking Stock

 

 

image

Here’s one of my assignments from my Blog with Pip course. It’s a great exercise to do, I am thinking I will try to do this one a month, just for myself. I have been enjoying reading my classmates Taking Stock Posts too. If anyone wants to share theirs here feel free to post a link in the comments. Just copy the blank list and have a go, it’s kind of fun!

Making : Time for myself to explore my creativity and do my blogging “homework”
Cooking :Not tonight, tonight it’s Thai takeaway for us 🙂
Drinking :Tea (of course)
Reading: If You Want to Write by Barbara Ueland (well I’ve started anyway)
Wanting: To improve my time management skills
Looking: At LOTS of blogs, tree silhoutte’s, things a bit differently
Playing: more than I did before I did the Inspiration Information course
Deciding: Winter isn’t so bad when you have lots of indoor hobbies and good heating
Wishing:I could make this rainy Saturday afternoon last a little bit longer
Enjoying: Meeting new lovely people through the Pip Lincolne courses
Waiting: For my garlic to be ready to pull up- I’ve never grown garlic before, it’s a little bit exciting
Liking: Getting up early and having me time/creative time to start the day
Wondering:If I should be using full stops
Loving: This stage of my life
Pondering: The how’s, why’s and what’s of my new blog
Considering: Having an afternoon nap
Watching: Our girls growing up and becoming more and more independent
Hoping: They find what they what they love to do for their futures
Marvelling: At how well they are doing in so many facets of their lives
Needing: To keep working on getting balance in my life
Smelling: The washing drying inside ( a constant during winter)
Wearing: My new super soft, oversized cream cashmere jumper ( a target bargain)
Following:  The blogs of my new classmates, and more blogs that they are suggesting or following
Noticing: The beauty around me, more and more
Knowing: That I’m on the right path
Thinking: about what my next post will be about and which curry we will order tonight
Feeling: Happily overwhelmed
Admiring: Other peoples courage and creativity
Sorting: Out my priorities
Buying: Trying to buy only what is required
Getting: On with doing my homework today
Bookmarking: More than I EVER have before
Disliking: Feeling tired
Opening: up lots of tabs so I can flick between places easily
Giggling: Not enough!
Feeling: Like weekends are never long enough
Snacking: Gingerbread cookies made by the girls
Coveting: a new iphone ( my iphone 3 seems so clunky compared to the new ones)
Wishing: I could have a whole week off at home
Helping: My mum with some flyers for her upcoming Feldenkrais classes
Hearing: our piano player playing Somewhere over the Rainbow

 

Here’s the list if you want to have a go

Here’s the list…

Making :
Cooking :
Drinking :
Reading:
Wanting:
Looking:
Playing:
Deciding:
Wishing:
Enjoying:
Waiting:
Liking:
Wondering:
Loving:
Pondering:
Considering:
Watching:
Hoping:
Marvelling:
Needing:
Smelling:
Wearing:
Following:
Noticing:
Knowing:
Thinking:
Feeling:
Admiring:
Sorting:
Buying:
Getting:
Bookmarking:
Disliking:
Opening:
Giggling:
Feeling:
Snacking:
Coveting:
Wishing:
Helping:
Hearing:

 

16 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. What a fun thing to do! It really makes you think about stuff we often just gloss over. It’s a real exercise in gratitude and mindfulness. I’ll give it a go.

    Like

  2. It was a great exercise! I agree that it should form a part of your ‘creativity prescription! A nice way to keep yourself grounded in the present.

    Like

    1. It’s funny how once you get started it kind of flows. I really like this exercise too. I’m going to add it to my creativity prescription too, great idea Carolyn 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Emily, Love Thai food, it’s been interesting reading your Taking Stock. You really get to know a snapshot of someone’s world. Have you read Stephen King’s “On Writing” book? Lots of fantastic advice for writers. xx

    Like

    1. It’s a great song, she’s playing Gabriels Oboe everyday at the moment in preparation for an exam, so it was lovely to hear that one again (one of last years pieces). Looking forward to reading your list 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

