Serenity: Get Messy Art Journal : Week 4

image

It’s been a challenge to make the time this week, but here I am on Thursday again looking at my pages, wondering if they are finished and also looking at the clock wondering if I can get this post done before school pick up!

This weeks prompts in the Get Messy art journal challenge were by Karen and they had us art journaling to music. Miss 15 came in to hear “Flower duet” from Leo Delibes’ opera Lakme playing, and asked what I was doing. I told her that I was doing my art journaling homework  to which she replied that, that  was pretty random and she wished that it was her homework. Yes it was random and that is one of the things I love about Get Messy, week to week is a surprise, where will the prompts take me ?And what will the tutorials be about? This week I’ve also been watching some things on Periscope but that’s a whole other story!

image

Finding time to art journal whilst listening to an aria on repeat proved a bit tricky, one moment I would be enjoying the music and getting a feel for putting colour on my page, the next I was being asked questions about things  ( I can’t even remember what, but it was really not very serene!!!). So I put it aside until today and let some ideas grow till I could art journal with the house to myself.That seems to work so much better for me. I can draw, sketch and doodle amongst others but I seem to be able to get more creative flow happening when I am by myself. How about you?

I’ve also realised I need to streamline how I listen to music, at some stage I’d like to have my ipod sorted with some play lists, so I can just plug in and go. It makes sense, I clean the house to certain music and it would be nice to have a creative days play list. Or should I sign up to spotify??? For now though, I am going to keep it simple, finish this post and have a few minutes serenity in the beautiful sunshine that is beckoning me.

Thanks for stopping by.

Emily 🙂

13 thoughts on “Serenity: Get Messy Art Journal : Week 4

  1. Super serene and beautiful Emily 🙂 I also need to be alone or at the least, silent and not communicating to draw or paint or create anything of substance! It takes all of my concentration and I just go into my own little world which sounds the same for you 🙂

    Like

  2. Such pretty pages Emily! Love the colours and the bird. I have created some relaxing/meditative playlists as well as an ‘upbeat’ and ‘happiness’ playlist. Alas, I’ve not done any serenity prompts yet – am keeping calm about it though 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. Thanks Rebecca, I’m trying to keep calm about my lack of collaging lately. It doesn’t help when I keep signing up for new things. I’m really enjoying spotify so far. Just need a bit more time to make my own play lists. Thanks for popping in ! xx

      Like

  3. Lovely journal pages Emily. Spotify is handy and lots of great music to choose from. I thought of you this week when I borrowed ‘No Excuses Art Journaling’ from the library. There are so many good ideas in there, I might have to buy it, or make lots of notes!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

