Serenity: Week 5: Get Messy Art Journaling: Enjoy the moments

image

My little light bulb moment this week is kind of hard to put into words, but I’ll try.After struggling with turning the Get Messy Prompts into something I wanted to express and then looking at my page really not liking it, I realised that for some reason the process hadn’t worked. So I put it in the too hard basket for a while. A bit later it came to me that I had been using the logical/ planning/outcome attached side of my brain and by doing that had ended up with a page with no flow, beauty or joy ( boring!) ah hah!

image

After that I went with a different approach, just playing with my watercolours, breaking in my new art journal without any expectation. Without a goal in mind and also the idea that I could be just for my eyes. It’s the simplest page ever and guess what, I like it. I hadn’t looked elsewhere for inspiration but had just allowed myself to explore. And really what I wanted to express is that it’s all the little moments that are treasures my life. Maybe they aren’t in any photo albums, blog or journals but those moments like enjoying a hot shower, chatting with my girls over afternoon tea, getting into my comfy clothes at the end of the day and climbing into my cozy bed at bed time, they add up make up my life. ( I then went back to my other page and added lots of little watercolour moments  and suddenly liked it much more).

image

Then today I read this quote ” Creativity is about play and a kind of willingness to go with your intuition, It’s crucial to an artist. If you know where you are going and what you are going to do, why do it” Frank Gehry. ( thanks Daisy Yellow Art ). And then in  Pam Garrison’s latest class she talked about “finding out what makes you feel happy, what ignites your creativity?”. YES!!! (Thanks Pam).So…. I know this side of my brain is way underdeveloped but I am going to keep going, doing, learning and playing. I’ll keep showing up, listening out for my intuition, following it and seeing where it takes me. I decided to share all my pages here because, well why not!

Thanks for reading my rambling words.

Emily 🙂

7 thoughts on “Serenity: Week 5: Get Messy Art Journaling: Enjoy the moments

  1. It’s funny how some weeks the prompts fire the imagination straight away & some weeks much more challenging. I look forward to Monday mornings but felt quite disappointed this week however when I reread them something just clicked. You’re right though those little moments are really special….I love my cozy bed as well!

    Like

  2. I struggled with the prompts this week (even though they were great ideas) I created a page that I did not like but posted it anyway. I think I am just trying too hard or something. I love your work and your last few posts have inspired me. I am also overcommitted all the time.😁😁

    Like

  3. It is hard not to get all serious and want to do things “right”, isn’t it? Lately I keep on reminding myself to chill out and do a bit more playing with my watercolours instead of worrying about the final result.

    Like

    1. Hi Susan, I’m smiling here to see you’ve popped over. I was wanting to order some of your awesome pants but didn’t get around to it. Lets catch up for a cuppa soon. Emily x

      Like

Leave a Reply

