This week : 52 Portraits

I’m  glad I’m still blogging. It’s not an easy thing to put your words out there into the world. To share a little or a lot of yourself with a mix of strangers, online friends and people you know IRL (in real life). Writing this blog gives me an extra chance to reflect, I often find myself thinking about things I could say here in my little corner of the blogosphere. Then comes the self censorship, sometimes the struggle with words and editing, but also the question- why am I doing this again ?

So pushing all that to the side for a few minutes, I wanted to tell you about a new project I am embarking on this week and why I’m doing it.

It’s called 52 Portraits, and it’s a photography course in self discovery created by Vanessa Oliver-LLoyd and hosted on the Get Messy website. This is how it’s described -” a year long journey in using photography and words to turn your reflection inward and capture who you are at this phase in your life” …. ” document your life right now and uncover your creative self”. Yep, it had my name written on it for sure!

Initially, I didn’t think this would be for me, but the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to do it.Mostly these days the photos I’m in are me staring at the camera with a few other people, putting on my photo smile, or caught unaware in an unflattering moment.However my favourite images of myself show some aspect of me, or capture the ” essence” of me at that moment.So why not create some more of these. Now feels like a good time to capture myself on camera, for myself. In a way it’s a form of journaling, documenting me in this year of my life, me at 47 .

So for the next 52 weeks I will be taking a self portrait using the prompts from the course, my little Samsung camera and a tripod. I am not planning on sharing them all, because this is for me. But knowing me I will sneak the odd one in here or there. Like today.

 

 

image

So that’s me on my 47th birthday, this week with my “let’s do this, let’s start this today, now” face on. I’ve printed up the course book, and taken my self portrait for week 1 and I’m feeling grateful for this opportunity and for all the good things in my life right now. I’ve had a wonderful week catching up with friends, getting lovely birthday wishes and celebrating being 47.

I hope this week was kind to you too. Thanks for reading, it would be a lonely blog without you.

Emily x

p.s If you wanted to know more about this course here is the blurb and and a link ( not sponsored, just sharing ).

52 Portraits is a photography course in self discovery by Vanessa and is hosted though Get Messy Art Journal. The course is a year long journey in using photography and words to turn your reflection inward and capture who you are at this phase in your life. Learn more and join the course here.

5 thoughts on “This week : 52 Portraits

  1. Thanks for so generously sharing your art journey. Makes me consider my “self “and engage and explore in my art practice. Love it !! To be continued…….

    Like

  2. Yes, blogging is a good thing, I have ‘met’ some amazing people who do amazing things via blogs and I would never have learnt what I have without my fellow bloggers.
    This will be a great project to look back on at the end of the year. I love your first portrait, strong but still flattering.

    Like

  3. A lovely photo Emily, did someone take it for you or did you set your camera up? I took my tripod into the garden the other day as it was suddenly sunny & I wanted to try & capture the love I have for sunny days (not that we get many!)….all much easier than it looked, thankfully I persevered & got a sort of decent shot & so glad I spent the time fiddling around.

    Like

  4. Awesome! I’m excited to see the bits and pieces you decide to share. 🙂 I’m trying to decide if I’ll do the course too starting next month…on my birthday. It somehow seems appropriate, doesn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

