Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

Well it’s been quite a year, with lots of highs and lows. It kind of feels like I haven’t had a chance to stop and catch my breath and now the year is almost over( is over).

I’m slowing things down this weekend, taking time to read, sort out my art supplies, read my book, have a bath, drink lots of cups of tea and of course do some art journaling. Helping me to slow down is my recently sprained ankle – ouch !

I’m happy with what I have done creatively this year. I’ve challenged myself by being on a creative team, tried lots of new art techniques, attended an art workshop at our local university and continued with , sketchbook practice ( unfortunately not as regularly as I’d like to). I’ve learnt new tricks with technology which have helped me be more organized ( and still not organized enough) and I’ve kept a morning pages journal habit going for most days! I’ve signed up to too many classes and bought too many supplies and I know that won’t stop me continuing to do that in the future, hahaha!

Blogging, and online learning has opened up so many doors to me and I’ve met some lovely people and even got to meet up and spend time in real life with some of them. It still amazes me that I have made actual friends online!

My big news is that next year I’m going to Uni to study community and human services. I’m not exactly sure where this will lead, or if I will even make it through a semester, but it felt like time for me to take a step towards something new and away from the safe and familiar.

I don’t want to stop blogging, or art journaling or sketching or learning.  I plan on being creative about how I downsize, but not eliminate these things from my life and manage a full time study load, part time job and family life. I’m open to suggestions !!!

I’m thinking along the lines of a monthly hello post, or a taking stock post or just some images of what I’ve been creating, what new supply fell into my shopping basket or maybe just pictures of me squashed under piles of Uni lecture notes and unsorted washing!

Happy New Year to you , I hope you have lots to celebrate and are looking forward to the beginning of a new year. Thanks for reading my blog, for liking my images, for the comments and  for being online and IRL pals. Thanks Mum for reading my blog and supporting me 100% of the time. Thanks to my husband and girls for putting up with writing blog posts at weird times and becoming a social media and art supplies stores addict. I’ll see you in 2017 and if you see me spending too much time on social media please give me a gentle reminder that I probably have things I need to be doing.

Cheers!

love , Emily xx

 

5 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

  1. Aww Em :)! So happy that I met you this year! A great way of closing out the year, and I really can’t wait to see what 2017 brings you 🙂 I wish you all the best with your uni degree, and I’ll be here cheering you on every step of the way! Go Em Go!

    Like

  2. I like that I am part of a couple of those photos! And I always love seeing what you are doing! I am looking forward to hearing about your new endeavours this year and I hope you can continue to carve out some time to create and share. Here’s to a happy 2017 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

